About Akwa Ibom State Nigeria

The Slogan

Land of Promise

Date Of Creation

23 September 1987


Akwa Ibom State is a state in the South-South geopolitical zone of Nigeria, bordered on the east by Cross River State, on the west by Rivers State and Abia State, and on the south by the Atlantic Ocean. The state takes its name from the Kwa Ibo River which bisects the state before flowing into the Bight of Bonny.

See Also: About The 36 States Of Nigeria

About Adamawa State, Nigeria

About Zamfara State, Nigeria

Brief History

The region of the state was created out of Cross River State on September 23, 1987 by the then Military Administration of General Ibrahim Badamosi Babangida.[18] No central government existed among the people of what is now Akwa Ibom State prior to the British invasion in 1904. Instead, the Annang, Oron, Efik, Ibonos and Ibibio were all autonomous groups.

Although several Scottish missionaries arrived in Calabar in 1848, and Ibono in 1887, the British did not firmly establish control of the area until 1904. In that year, the Enyong Division was created encompassing the area of the current state of Akwa Ibom, with headquarters at Ikot Ekpene, an Annang city described by the noted Africanist Kaanan Nair, as the cultural and political capital of Annang and Ibibio.

The creation of Enyong Division for the first time allowed the numerous ethnic groups to come together. This further provided a venue for the creation of the Ibibio Welfare Union, later renamed Ibibio State Union. This social organization was first organized as a local development and improvement forum for educated persons and groups who were shut out from the colonial administration in 1929. Nonetheless, some historians have wrongly pointed to the union to buttress their argument about the homogeneity of groups in the area. The Obolo Union, comprising Ibono and Andoni stock, was another strong socioeconomic and cultural organization that thrived in the region. The Ibono people have fought wars to maintain their unique identity and territory in the region more than any other group.

When Akwa Ibom state was created in 1987, Uyo was chosen as the state capital to spread development to all regions of the state

The Local Government area

Akwa Ibom State consists of thirty-one (31) local government areas. They are:

Eastern Obolo
Essien Udim
Ikot Abasi
Ikot Ekpene
Oruk Anam

The Governor

Udom Gabriel Emmanuel

The Deputy governor

Moses Ekpo

The Senators

NE: Bassey Akpan (PDP)
NW: Chris Ekpenyong (PDP)
S: Akon Eyakenyi (PDP)


SenateChristopher Stephen EkpenyongPDPAkwa Ibom North West2019–2023
SenateBassey AlbertPDPAkwa Ibom North East2019–2023
SenateAkon Etim EyakenyiPDPAkwa Ibom South2019–2023
House of RepresentativesOnofiok Akpan LukePDPEtinan/Nsit ibom/Nsit Ubim2019–2023
House of RepresentativesDr. Michael Okon EnyongPDPUyo/Uruan/Nsit Ata/Ibesikpo Asutan2019–2023
House of RepresentativesFrancis Charles UdoyukPDPIkot Abasi/Mkpat Enin/Eastern Obolo2019–2023
House of RepresentativesAniekan John UmanahPDPAbak/Etim Ekpo/Ika2019–2023
House of RepresentativesHenry Okon ArchibongPDPItu/Ibiono Ibom2019–2023
House of RepresentativesPatrick Nathan IfonPDPEket/Onna/Esit Eket/Ibeno2019–2023
House of RepresentativesEmmanuel Effiong Ukpong-udoPDPIkono/Ini2019–2023
House of RepresentativesFrancis Charles UduyokPDPIkot Ekpene/Essien Udim/Obot Akara2019–2023
House of RepresentativesNse Bassey EkpenyongPDPOron/Mbo/Okobo/Urue Offong/Uko2019–2023
House of RepresentativesUnyime Josiah IdemPDPUkanafun/Orukanam2019–2023

The Website


Major Cities


Prominent Places

University of Uyo, Uyo
Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron

Meridien Akwa Ibom park

Mineral Resources

limestone, clay, natural gas, salt, coal, giver nitrate and glass sand.

The population

Population (2016)
• Total 5,450,758

Postal Code


Culture and tourism

Meridien Akwa Ibom park

Notable People

Obong Victor Attah, former governor of Akwa Ibom State
Senator Godswill Akpabio, former governor of Akwa Ibom State, former Senate Minority Leader
Effiong Dickson Bob
Ini Edo, Nollywood Actress
Obong Ufot Ekaette, secretary to the Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007 under President Olusegun Obasanjo
Dominic Ekandem first cardinal in English-speaking West Africa. First Nigerian Cardinal to qualify as a candidate to the papacy.
Senator (Engr.) Chris Ekpenyong Former deputy governor of Akwa Ibom State in the Victor Attah administration and current Nigerian Senator representing Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial District in the 9th Assembly.
Engr. Patrick Ekpotu, former Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State
Udom Gabriel Emmanuel, Governor of Akwa Ibom State from May 2015 to date
Senator Ita Enang, Senior Special Assistant (Niger-Delta) to President Muhammadu Buhari
Vincent Enyeama, professional footballer (Goalie) and former Super Eagle captain
Mark Essien, entrepreneur and founder of Hotels.ng
Chief Donald Etiebet, former Minister of Petroleum
Nse Ikpe-Etim, Nollywood actress
Eve Esin, Nollywood actress
Etim Inyang, former Inspector General of the Nigerian Police Force (I.G.P) 1985 to 1986
Obong Akpan Isemin, elected governor of Akwa Ibom State in Nigeria from January 1992 to November 1993 during the Nigerian Third Republic
Clement Isong, second governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; first civilian governor of the former Cross River State
Emem Isong, multi-award winning filmmaker and CEO of Royal Arts Academy
Rt. Hon. Onofiok Luke, the 11th Speaker of the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly and the Pioneer Speaker of the Nigeria Youth Parliament
Group Capt. Idongesit Nkanga, former military governor of Akwa Ibom State
Samuel Peter, world heavyweight boxing champion
Egbert Udo Udoma, from Ikot Abasi, former chief justice of Uganda
Ime Bishop Umoh, Nollywood actor
Professor Okon Uya was briefly chairman of the National Electoral Commission of Nigeria (NECON), appointed by President Ibrahim Babangida after the presidential elections of 12 June 1993 had been annulled and his predecessor Humphrey Nwosu dismissed.


LanguageLGA(s) spoken in
AnaangAbak, Essien Udim, Ika, Ikot Ekpene, Oruk-Anam, Ukanafun,Etim ekpo,
OboloEastern Obolo
EkidEket, Esit Eket
EtebiEsit Eket
IbibioEtinan, Ibiono Ibom, Ikono, Ikot Abasi, Itu, Mkpat Enin, Nsit Atai, Nsit-Ubium, Onna, Uruan, Uyo
Ika OkuIka
Itu Mbon UsoIni
EfikItu, Uruan
EbughuMbo, Oron
OroMbo, Oron, Udung Uko, Urue-Offrong-Oruko
IkoEastern Obolo


University of Uyo, Uyo
Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron
Federal Politechnic, Ukana
Akwa Ibom State University (Oruk Anam LGA and Mkpat Enin LGA)
Obong University, Obong Ntak
Akwa Ibom State Polytechnic Ikot Osurua
Uyo City Polytechnic Nduetong Oku
Foundation College of Technology Ikot Ekpene
Apex Polytechnic
Heritage Polytechnic, Eket
School of Nursing; Uyo, Eket, Oron, Ikot Ekpene, Etinan
Akwa Ibom State College of Education, Afaha Nsit
School Of Basic Studies, Abak
College of Arts & Sciences, Nnung Ukim
Ritman University
Sure Polytechnic, Ukanafun
Topfaith University, Mkpatak
Trinity Polytechnic Uyo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.