Home States About Kogi State, Nigeria

About Kogi State, Nigeria


The Slogan

Confluence State

Date Of Creation

27 August 1991


Adjacent States
Federal Capital Territory (Nigeria) – to the north
Nasarawa State – to the north east
Benue State – to the east
Enugu State – to the south east
Anambra State – to the south
Edo State – to the south west
Ondo State – to the west
Ekiti State – to the west
Kwara State – to the west
Niger State – to the north

Brief History

Kogi State is one of the 36 States of Nigeria, located in the Middle Belt. Created in 1991 from parts of Kwara State and Benue State, Kogi State is noted as being the only state in Nigeria to border ten other states. Kogi State is nicknamed the “Confluence State” due the fact that the confluence of the River Niger and the River Benue occurs in its capital, Lokoja. Nigeria largest known deposits of iron ore is found in the Agbaja plateau situated west of the state capital, Lokoja . Due to its strategic position in the middle of the country and its access to these major rivers, Kogi State is a key center of commercial trade in Nigeria. The majority of Kogi State residents are Igala, Ebira and Okun (Yoruba). Agriculture remains dominant in the Kogi State economy

The Local Government area

Kogi State consists of twenty-one (21) local government areas. Which are:

Koton Karfe
Yagba East
Yagba West

The Governor

Yahaya Bello (APC)

The Deputy governor

Edward David Onoja (APC)

The Senators

C: Yakubu Oseni (APC)
E: Jibrin Isah (APC)
W: Smart Adeyemi (PDP)


Bello Joseph Asuku Adavi/Okehi APC
Ali Abdullahi Ibrahim Ankpa/Omala/Olamaboro APC
Leke Joseph Abejide Yagba East/Yagba West/Mopa-muro ADC
Zacharias David Idris Idah/Ibaji/Igalamela/Ofu APC
Yusuf Tajudeen Kabba/Bunu/Ijumu PDP
Idrisu Lawal Muhammadu Ajaokuta APC
Yusuf Ahmed Tijani Okene/Ogori-Magogo APC
Shaba Isah Ibrahim Lokoja / Koton Karfe PDP

The Website


Major Cities


Prominent Places

 Lord Lugard House, Mount Patti, World War Cenotaph, the confluence of Rivers Niger and Benue, Ogidi 

Mineral Resources

Mineral resources include coallimestoneironpetroleum and tin. The state is home to the largest iron and steel industry in Nigeria known as Ajaokuta Steel Company Limited and one of the largest cement factories in Africa, the Obajana Cement Factory.

The population

Population (2006 census)
• Total 3,314,043

Postal Code


Culture and tourism

Tourist attractions in Kogi State include the colonial relics (such as Lord Lugard House), Mount Patti, World War Cenotaph, the confluence of Rivers Niger and Benue, Ogidi (An African town with formations of Igneous Rock mountains and a traditional art & craft industry) and natural land features hills and terrains that serve as hiking trails .

Being a 2-hour drive from Abuja some tourists come for day trips.

Notable People

Halima Abubakar, Nollywood Actress.
Segun Adaju, entrepreneur, CEO Consistent Energy Limited and President, Renewable Energy Association Nigeria (REAN).
Folashade Yemi-Esan, head of the civil service of the federation.
Smart Adeyemi, Senator representing Kogi West senatorial district.
S. A. Ajayi, A Nigeria founding father, former minister of forestry, minister of education, member house of Rep, Oluwole of Ijumu Land, Balogun-Bajito of Ogidi-Ijumu Maiyegun of OKoro Gbede.
Tolulope Arotile (1995–2020), Nigerian Air Force female helicopter pilot.
Abubakar Audu, first civilian and two-term governor of the state (1992–1993 and 1999–2003).
Yahaya Bello, Governor of Kogi State (2016 till date).
Joseph Benjamin, Actor.
Darey – Darey Art Alade.
Ibrahim Idris, former governor of the state (2003-2011).
Joseph Makoju, former GM NEPA.
Jaywon, Musician.
Mercy Johnson, Nollywood Actress.
Dino Melaye, former Senator from Kogi West.
Bayo Ojo, a former Attorney General of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
Edward David Onoja, former Chief of Staff to Governor Yahaya Bello 2016 – 2019. Deputy Governor of Kogi State (2019 till date).
Praiz, Songwriter, Artiste.
Idris Wada, former governor of the state (2011-2016).


There are three main ethnic groups and languages in Kogi: Igala, Ebira, and Okun (a Yoruba Group) with others such as Bassa Nge of Bassa L.G.A, Kupa and Kakanda speakers, who are a people of Nupe extraction under Lokoja L.G.A., Bassa-Komo which is also of Bassa Local Government Area, Oworo people (A Yoruba Group), Igbo, Ogori Magongo, and Idoma.


Kogi state is home to the Federal University (Lokoja), Kogi State University Anyigba, Federal Polytechnic Idah,Kogi State Polytechnic (Lokoja), Federal College of Education (Okene), College of Education (Ankpa), College of Agriculture Kabba, Kogi state college of education, technical (Kabba) and the Private Salem University, Lokoja. There are a college of nursing and midwifery in Anyigba and Obangede, School of health tech in Idah and ECWA School of Nursing in Egbe.

Previous articleAbout Abia State, Nigeria
Next articleAbout Kastina State, Nigeria


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here