About Nasarawa State, Nigeria

The Slogan

Home of Solid Minerals

Date Of Creation

Nasarawa state was created in October 1st 1996 out of neighboring Plateau state


Located in the North-Central region of Nigeria, it is bordered on the West by the Federal Capital Territory, the North by Kaduna, the South by Benue and Kogi, and on the East by Plateau and Taraba states.

Brief History

Nasarawa state was created in 1996 out of neighbouring Plateau state. Located in the North-Central region of Nigeria, it is bordered on the West by the Federal Capital Territory, the North by Kaduna, the South by Benue and Kogi, and on the East by Plateau and Taraba states. Nasarawa’s main economic activity is agriculture; cash crops such as yam, cassava andegusi (melon). Production of minerals such as salt is also another major economic activity in the state; Nasarawa produces a large proportion of the salt consumed in the country.

Nasarawa has a diverse range of ethnic groups indigenous to the state. According to the 2006 census a little less than 2 million people reside in the state.

The Local Government area

Nasarawa State is made up of thirteen Local Government Areas, namely, Akwanga, Awe, Doma, Karu, Keana, Kokona, Lafia, Nasarawa, Nasarawa Eggon, Obi, Toto, Wamba and Keffi

The Governor

Abdullahi Sule

The Deputy governor

Dr Emmanuel Agbadu Akabe

The Senators

Senator Constituency Party
Abdullahi Adamu West APC
Godiya Akwashiki North APC
Umaru Tanko Al-Makura South APC


Abdulkarim usman:PDP: akwang nasarawa eggon and wamba Abdulmumin Mohammed: APC: nasarawa/Toto Abubakar hassan nalaraba:awe/doma/keana Abubakar sarki:obi: lafia

The Website


Major Cities

Its Main Cities and Towns are Lafia (capital city), Akwanga, Doma, Karu, Keffi, Nasarawa, Nasarawa-Egon and Wamba

Prominent Places

  1. Farin Ruwa Waterfall
  2. Karofi Dyeing Center, Laffia
  3. Eggon Hills
  4. Umaisha River Bank Resort
  5. Oku Akpa Rock and Picnic Centre
  6. Ara Rock
  7. Akiri Salt Village
  8. Akiri Warm Spring
  9. Doma Dam

Mineral Resources

Nasarawa state is richly endowed with a variety of solid minerals of various categories ranging from precious metals to various gemstones and also industrial minerals such as barites, gypsum, kaolin and marble

The population

According to the 2006 population censors, Nasarawa State has a total population of 1,869,377( Male 943,801 and Female 925,576) out of which 953,382 are children (0-17years) (FMWA&SD, 2008).

Postal Code

Akwanga, Nasarawa state postal code
Agyaga — 960107
Akwanga town — 960101
Ancio Babba — 960110
Andaha — 960102
Angwan Zaria — 960108
Anjida — 960111
Boher — 960109
Gudi — 960105
Gwanje — 960104
Nigha’an — 960103
Nunku — 960106
Awe town — 951103
Azaara — 951104
Tunga — 951105
Agwashi — 950107
Alagyy — 950105
Doka — 950104
Doma town — 950103
Gidanrai — 950106
Karu LGA, Nasarawa state postal code
Gitata — 961106
Karshi — 961104
Karu — 961105
Uke — 961103
Aloshi — 951107
Giza — 951108
Kadarko — 951109
Keana — 951106
Keffi postal code : 961101
Lafia Postal code
Assakio — 950102
BarikinAbdullahi — 950108
Lafia (Rural) — 950101
Nasarawa Egon
Alongani — 960168
Mada Station — 960169
Umme — 960167
Nasarawa LGA
Loko — 962103
Nasarawa — 962101
Udege — 962102
Obi town — 951102
Zhemegli — 951101
Gada — 962104
Toto — 962106
Umaisha — 962105
Mama — 960135
Wamba — 960134
Kokona postal code : 961102

Culture and tourism

The young state is richly endowed with scenic beauty, and conspicuous features. Its temperate climate makes it a tourist centre. Lafia the state capital has an enviable weather with a fascinating rocky environment.

Nasarawa has many cultural festivals. Among these festivals are Odu, Amiri, Sharo (Fulani), Omadegye annual festival, Awuma dance, Oguh dance, Gbagyi Gbogum, Oyarere

Notable People

Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi

Justice Suleiman Dikko 

Abdullahi Adamu

Aruwa Gyunka

Suleiman Adokwe

Hussain Salihu

Aliyu Doma

Thomas Zenke


 There are 29 languages spoken in the state, the major ones being: Agatu, Basa, Eggon, Gbagyi, Gade, Goemai, Gwandara, Ham, Kofyar, and Lijili.


Federal University, Lafia
Nasarawa State University Keffi
Bingham University, New Karu
College of Education Akwanga
Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa
Nasarawa State Polytechnic
Nassarawa State University Keffi
Cadel Nursery, Primary And High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.