Brief Facts About East Timor

East Timor or Timor-Leste is a country in Maritime Southeast Asia.It comprises the eastern half of the island of Timor, the nearby islands of Atauro and Jaco, and Oecusse, an exclave on the northwestern side of the island, within Indonesian West Timor.
Much of the country is mountainous, and its highest is Tatamailau (also known as Mount Ramelau) at 2,963 metres (9,721 ft)
The easternmost area of East Timor consists of the Paitchau Range and the Lake Ira Lalaro area, which contains the county’s first conservation area, the Nino Konis Santana National Park.[38] It contains the last remaining tropical dry forested area within the country. It hosts a number of unique plant and animal species and is sparsely populated.
East Timor has a market economy that used to depend upon exports of a few commodities such as coffee, marble, oil, and sandalwood.
It is one of only two predominantly Christian nations in Southeast Asia,the other being the Philippines.
Tatamailau, or Tata Mailau, sometimes referred as Mount Ramelau, is the highest mountain in East Timor and also of Timor island at 2,986 m. The mountain is located approximately 70 km south of the capital Dili in the district of Ainaro.
Cristo Rei of Dili is an 88.6‑foot‑high statue of Jesus located atop a globe in Dili, East Timor. The statue was designed by Mochamad Syailillah, who is better known as Bolil.
Atauro Island is a small island situated 25km north of Dili, East Timor, on the extinct Wetar segment of the volcanic Inner Banda Arc, between the Indonesian islands of Alor and Wetar.
The Nino Konis Santana National Park is East Timor’s first national park. The park, established on 3 August 2007, covers 1,236 square kilometres. It links important bird areas such as Lore, Mount Paitchau, Lake Ira Lalaro, and Jaco Island.
Areia Branca beach and hinterland is a 2994 ha Important Bird Area in East Timor, a country occupying the eastern end of the island of Timor at the eastern end of the Lesser Sunda Islands group of Wallacea.
The Ombai Strait is the strait which separates the Alor Archipelago from the islands of Wetar, Atauro, and Timor in the Lesser Sunda Islands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.