Brief Facts About Ecuador

Ecuador is a small country located in South America. It is bordered in the north by Columbia, on the east and south by Peru and by the Pacific Ocean on the west. Ecuador has an area of 109,484 square miles (283,520 square kilometers). The country’s capital city is Quito, which was declared a World Heritage Site in the 1970s by UNESCO. The country is home to over 15 million people, while Quito has over 2 million inhabitants. The country’s official language is Spanish, but Kichwa, Shuar and other indigenous languages are recognized by the government. Their flag is comprised of a yellow, blue and red stripe with the country’s coat of arms directly in the middle of the horizontal flag. Ecuador does not have an official religion, however 95% of the citizens identify as Christian. The official currency of Ecuador is the United States dollar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.