Brief Facts About Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea is the smallest country in the continent of Africa that is a member of the United Nations
Bata is the largest city in Equatorial Guinea and was formerly the capital city of the country.
Bioko is the largest island on which the country’s capital, Malabo, is located.
Equatorial Guinea is the only independent country in Africa with Spanish as an official language.
Equatorial Guinea has a single University, Universidad Nacional de Guinea Ecuatorial, the main campus is 5 miles from Malabo, with a Medical School at Bata on the mainland.
Luba is the second largest town ofBioko in Equatorial Guinea, having a population of around 7,000 people.
Playa Arena Blanca is the only white sand beach on Bioko Island, and is an hour’s drive from Malabo.
Bioko and Annobón are volcanic islands that are part of the chain starting with the Cameroon Highlands and outcropping into the Atlantic as far as St. Helena.
The highest point is Pico Basile at 3,008 m on the island of Bioko. Most of the land area is located on the mainland.
Moraka Playa is a black sand beach in Ureca, a village just out of Malabo and is considered as one of the most beautiful beaches in the island. The black sand comes from the extinct volcanoes that make up the island.
Monte Alen National Park is a protected wildlife park where visitors can enjoy tropical forests that are home to gorillas, chimpanzees, leopards, forest elephants, crocodiles and many other species of animals, birds and butterflies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.