Brief Facts About Holy See

The Vatican City – 0.44 km² is the smallest country in the world. Monaco – 2 km², Nauru – 21 km², Tuvalu – 26 km², San Marino – 61 km², Liechtenstein – 160 km², Marshall Islands – 181 km², Saint Kitts and Nevis – 261 km², Maldives – 300 km², and Malta – 316 km² are among the top ten smallest countries in the world.

2. Officially, the Vatican City is known as the Vatican City State or State of Vatican City.

3. It is located within the city of Rome, Italy.

4. The city-state is ruled by the bishop of Rome – The Pope.

5. The Vatican City is different from the Holy See. The Holy See is the universal government of the Catholic Church.

6. The Vatican City came into existence in 1929 after the Lateran Treaty signed between Italy and the Holy See.

7. The city is famous for some of the world’s most popular paintings and sculptures that exist in the cultural sites such as St Peter’s Basilica, the Sistine Chapel, and Vatican Museums.

8. The economy of the country is supported by the sale of postage stamps, tourist mementos, the entry fee for museums, the sale of publication etc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.