Brief Facts About Marshall Islands

1. The history of the Marshall Islands can be traced as far back as the 2nd millennium BC, when its occupants were known as sea travelers.

2. The Marshall Islands is made up of two archipelagic chains, with a total of 29 atolls.

3. The names of the two island groups of the Marshall Islands are the Ratak Chain and the Ralik Chain – Ratak meaning sunrise and Ralik meaning sunset.

4. The motto of the country is jepilpilin ke ejukaan, which means “accomplishment through joint effort.”

5. The Flame of the Forest is a flower that is present on all atolls, which the locals consider as symbols for blessings.

6. The DUD – or the Dulap-Uliga-Djarrit – are the three main islands that make up the capital of the Marshall Islands.

7. Elugelab, a Marshallese island, no longer exists – it was blown up by the US Armed Forces in 1952 during a hydrogen bomb test.

8. Copra, or dried coconut meat, is important to Marshallese economy.

9. The average height of the islands is only 7 feet above sea level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.