Brief Facts About South Sudan

South Sudan is a landlocked country in east-central Africa, bordering Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic.

Capital: Juba
Largest city: Juba
Currency: South Sudanese pound
Area: 644,329 sq km, slightly smaller than Texas
Population: 13,026,129 (July 2017 est.)
Ethnic Groups: Dinka 35.8%, Nuer 15.6%, Shilluk, Azande, Bari, Kakwa, Kuku, Murle, Mandari, Didinga, Ndogo, Bviri, Lndi, Anuak, Bongo, Lango, Dungotona, Acholi (2011 est.)
Religion: Animist, Christian
Recognised national languages: Bari; Dinka; Luo; Murle; Nuer; Zande; and around 60 other languages

South Sudan gained its independence from Sudan in 2011. The South Sudanese government considered numerous names such as Nile Republic, Azania and Kush Republic. It finally settled for what it thought was the safest choice- the Republic of South Sudan also called Ross.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.