Brief Facts About Sudan

Sudan is a war-torn North African country bordering the Red Sea, Egypt, Libya, Chad, Central African Republic, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Eritrea.

Capital: Khartoum
Largest city: Khartoum
Currency: Sudanese pound
Area: 1,861,484 sq km
Population: 36,729, 501 (July 2016 est.)
Ethnic groups: Sudanese Arab (approximately 70%), Fur, Beja, Nuba, Fallata
Religion: Sunni Muslim, small Christian minority

Did you know:

Sudan‘ means black in Arabic

Sudan was the largest country in Africa prior to the secession of South Sudan in 2011. It is now the third largest, after Algeria and Democratic Republic of the Congo. The size of Sudan is now approximately 25% smaller, with an area of 1.86 million square kilometers.

Sudan is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Arab League, the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation and the Non-Aligned Movement, as well as an observer in the World Trade Organization.

The National Assembly regulates the politics of Sudan. And the legal system in the country is based on Islamic law.

Between 2003 and 2008, at least 300,000 people were killed, and three million displaced during the Darfur Conflict, fighting between rebel groups and the government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.