Home Country Brief Facts About Suriname

Brief Facts About Suriname


Suriname is a small country on the northeastern coast of South America with Hindustani as its largest ethnic group.

Capital: Paramaribo
Largest city: Paramaribo
Currency: Surinamese dollar
Continent: South America
Recognised languages: 5 languages: Sarnami Hindustani; English; Sranan Tongo Creole; Javanese; Saramaccan
Official language: Dutch

Did You Know:

Suriname’s largest ethnic group is Hindustani, which makes up around thirty-seven percent of the population

The official name of Suriname is the Republic of Suriname.

It is bordered by French Guiana to the east, Guyana to the west and Brazil to the south.

The official language is Dutch.

As of 1 January 2016, the population of Suriname was estimated to be 545,672 people.

At just under 165,000 square kilometers (64,000 square miles), it is the smallest country in South America (in terms of its geographical size and its population).

Paramaribo is the capital and largest city of Suriname, located on the banks of the Suriname River in the Paramaribo District. Paramaribo has a population of roughly 240,000 people, almost half of Suriname’s population.

Previous articleBrief Facts About Sudan
Next articleBrief Facts About Swaziland


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here