Home Country Brief Facts About Timor-Leste

Brief Facts About Timor-Leste


Timor-Leste also known as East Timor is a Southeast Asian nation occupying half the island of Timor.

Capital: Dili
Currencies: United States Dollar, Indonesian rupiah, East Timor centavo coins
Official languages: Portuguese, Tetun

Timor-Leste was formerly known as East Timor.

The official name of East Timor is the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste. The country gained independence on May 20, 2002.

Majority of the people are Roman Catholics, followed by Protestants Muslims, Hindus and Buddhists.

The total land area of Timor-Leste is 5,640 square miles (14,609 square kilometres)…

It is one of only two predominantly Christian nations in Southeast Asia,the other being the Philippines.

East Timor has a market economy that used to depend upon exports of a few commodities such as coffee, marble, oil, and sandalwood.

Previous articleBrief Facts About Thailand
Next articleBrief Facts About Togo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here