Brief Facts About Tuvalu

Tuvalu (pronounced Too-vah-loo), a beautiful archipelago in the Pacific Ocean, is an independent island nation within the British Commonwealth.

Capital: Funafuti
Population: 11,097 (2016) World Bank
Continent: Oceania
Currencies: Australian dollar, Tuvaluan dollar
Official languages: English, Tuvaluan

Did You Know:

Tuvalu was Formerly known as the Ellice Islands.

Tuvalu is a pretty small country with a population of a little over 11,000.

It is situated 4,000 kilometers (2,500 mi) northeast of Australia and is approximately halfway between Hawaii and Australia.

It is just 26 sq km and is the fourth smallest country in the world which makes it larger than only the Vatican City, Monaco, and Nauru.

Its closest neighbours are the Solomon Islands to the west-southwest, Nauru to the northwest, Kiribati to the north, Tokelau to the east, Samoa and Wallis and Futuna to the southeast, and Fiji to the south.

Tuvalu is made up of nine small islands scattered over 500,000 sq mi of the western Pacific, just south of the equator. The islands include; Niulakita, Nukulaelae, Funafuti, Nukufetau, Vaitupu, Nui, Niutao, Nanumaga (Nanumanga), and Nanumea. Transportation between islands is by boat.

The only airport in Tuvalu is located in Funafuti, the capital.

Funafuti is the only island mass with accommodations, this is where you have about 56.6% of the Tuvalu population.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.