Functions Of Nigeria Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of Nigeria (SCN), is the highest court in Nigeria, and is located in the Central District, Abuja, in what is known as the Three Arms Zone,

The Supreme Court is composed of the Chief Justice of Nigeria and such number of justices not more than 21, appointed by the President on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council, (NJC) and subject to confirmation by the Senate. Justices of the Supreme Court must be qualified to practice law in Nigeria, and must have been so qualified for a period not less than fifteen years. Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria have a mandatory retirement age of 70 years.

Chief Justices Of Nigeria Since 1914 Till Date

  •  The Supreme Court has both original and appellate jurisdictions,
  • It has the sole authority and jurisdiction to entertain appeals from Court of Appeal, having appellate jurisdiction over all lower federal courts and highest state courts.

Current Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria

Procedure For The Removal of Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.