Home House/Housing History Of Radio Broadcasting In Nigeria

History Of Radio Broadcasting In Nigeria


In 1933 the British Colonial government introduced the Radio Distribution System (RDS) (a British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) reception and relay base) under the Department of Post and Telegraph (P&T) in Lagos – this birth radio broadcasting in Nigeria. Radio signals connected to box-like speakers through wired systems relayed BBC broadcast to homes in Nigeria.

In 1935, the Radio Distribution System changed to Radio Diffusion System. Licensed receivers increased to about 2000 in 1939 – Ibadan station was commissioned this year, followed by Kano station in 1944.

History Of Radio Nigeria

List Of All Radio Stations In Nigeria By State And Their Frequency

List Of Television Stations In Nigeria By State and Their Channels

The Turner Bryon committee whose mandate was to come up with recommendations on setting up radio services with a national identity recommended the setting up of the National Broadcasting Services in 1949. It was founded in 1951 in Lagos State.

The National Broadcasting services created an autonomous regional station in Enugu, Kaduna and Ibadan and further created provincial centers in Jos, Maiduguri, Sokoto, Kano and Ilorin.

In 1956 through a Bill of the House of Representative, the Nigerian Broadcasting Corporation was established with the statutory role of providing broadcasting services in Nigeria. The Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) was established in 1978, the Voice of Nigeria in 1990. With the creation of new states comes a further proliferation of the service along state lines.

The first private radio state, Ray-Power FM was established in 1994.

See Also: List Of Ministries, Agencies and Parastatals In Nigeria By State

Previous articleHistory Of Nigeria Satellite
Next articleMarte L.G.A Polling Units/Wards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here