History Of Southern Ijaw LGA, Bayelsa State

Southern Ijaw is a Local Government Area of Bayelsa State, Southern part of Nigeria. Its headquarters are in the town of Oporoma (or Osokoma) in the north of the area at 4°48′17″N 6°04′44″E. The area has a coastline of approximately 60 km on the Bight of Benin.

The people and their language are known as Izon. The LGA also has a wide practice of religion such as Traditionalism and Christianity.

It has institutions like the Niger Delta University (NDU), the state’s airport in Amassoma and Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe. It is the home of Kolu United FC of Koluama II.

The first democratically elected governor, Chief Diepreye Alamieyeseigha (DSP) hailed from the area.

It has an area of 2,682 km2 and a population of 319,413 at the 2006 census.

The postal code of the area is 560. The local government is made up of several towns and villages which include Igbomotoro, Peremabiri, Opuama, Eniwari, Angiama, Diebu, Ondewari, and Aziama.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.