National Flag Of South Korea: Details And Meaning

Full Name:Republic of Korea
Phone Code:+82

The Flag of the Republic of Korea, also known as the Taegukgi (also spelled as Taegeukgi, literally “supreme ultimate flag”), has three parts: a white rectangular background, a red and blue Taeguk, symbolizing balance, in its center, and four black trig-rams selected from the original eight, one toward each corner.


The three black unbroken bars (upper left) symbolize heaven, the trigram (lower left) symbolizes fire

The trigram (upper right) symbolizes water

 The three broken bars (lower right) symbolize earth. The white field represents the traditional colour of the Korean people. The centred Yin-yang symbol signifies unity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.