National Flag Of Philippines : Details And Meaning

Full Name:Republic of the Philippines
Phone Code:+63
Region: Asia

The National Flag of the Philippines (Filipino: Pambansang Watawat ng Pilipinas) is a horizontal flag bicolor with equal bands of royal blue and scarlet, and with a white, equilateral triangle at the hoist. In the center of the triangle is a golden-yellow sun with eight primary rays, each representing a Philippine province.At each vertex of the triangle is a five-pointed, golden-yellow star, each of which representing one of the country’s three main island groups—Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao, the central star originally referred to Panay (where Iloilo is located, the first province outside Luzon to have raised this flag) which is commonly mistaken to be the whole island group of Visayas. Panay, which recent interpretations call as “as representative of the entire Visayas region”.A unique feature of this flag is its ability to indicate a state of war if it is displayed with the red side on top.

National Flag of All Countries: Details And Meaning


Blue stands for the willingness to sacrifice oneself for freedom, peace, truth and justice
 Red symbolizes courage and patriotism
 Golden sun with eight rays symbolizes unity, freedom, people’s democracy, and sovereignty. The eight rays represent that started the 1896 Philippine Revolution against Spain – Manila, Cavite, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Laguna, and Batangas
 White equilateral triangle symbolizes liberty, equality and fraternity
 Three five-pointed stars stand for the three major groups of islands where the revolution started: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.