National Flag Of United Kingdom : Details And Meaning

Full Name: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Capital: London
Phone code: +44
TLD: .uk
Region: Europe

United Kingdom National Flag

The national flag of the United Kingdom is the symbol representing the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland at international level, known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

United Kingdom Flag History

The national flag of United Kingdom, commonly known as the Union Flag (which derives from the use of the Union Flag on the jack-staff – or flagpole), incorporates the emblems of three countries under one sovereignty. The emblems that appear on the Union Flag are the crosses of the three patron saints. The red cross of St George on white background, representing England. The diagonal white cross of St. Andrew on blue background, representing Scotland. The diagonal red cross of Saint Patrick on white background, representing Ireland. The final version of the Flag of the Union appeared in 1801, after the union of Great Britain with Ireland, following which was included the cross of Saint Patrick. The cross remains on the flag although at present only Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom.

Wales is not represented on the Union flag because, when the first version of the flag appeared, Wales had already united with England. The national flag of Wales, a red dragon on a white and green background, dates from the fifteenth century and is widely used throughout the principality.

The Union Flag should be hoisted with the widest white diagonal band up near the flagpole, and the narrower white diagonal band (on the flap side) furthest from the flagpole.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.