Home Education National Open University of Nigeria: Fees, Courses, Admission and Students Portal Details

National Open University of Nigeria: Fees, Courses, Admission and Students Portal Details


The National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) was established in 1983 and resuscitated in 2002 as a Federal Open and Distance Learning (ODL) institution. It is regarded as the largest institution with campuses spread across Nigeria.

NOUN is said to be the first of its kind in all of West Africa, with the highest population of students. As of 2011, the number of learners was about 150,000. The university has a total of 45 study centres at strategic locations in Nigeria, including in prisons where inmates can study and earn a degree.

Faculties in National Open University Of Nigeria

The university has nine faculties and also offer Postgraduate Diploma Programmes and Masters Degree Programmes. The nine Faculties and Departments include:

1. Centre For Entrepreneurship And General Studies (CE&GS)

2. Faculty of Agricultural Sciences

  1. Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  2. Animal Science and Fisheries
  3. Crop and Soil Sciences

3. Faculty of Arts

  1. Languages
  2. Religious Studies

4. Faculty of Education

  1. Arts and Social Education
  2. Educational Foundations
  3. Science Education

5. Faculty of Health Sciences

  1. Nursing Science
  2. Public and Environmental Health

6. Faculty of Law

  1. Commercial Law
  2. Jurisprudence and International Law
  3. Private and Property Law
  4. Public Law

7. Faculty of Management Sciences

  1. Administration
  2. Entrepreneurial Studies
  3. Financial Studies

8. Faculty of Science

  1. Computer Sciences
  2. Environmental Studies
  3. Mathematics
  4. Pure and Applied Sciences

9. Faculty of Social Sciences

  1. Criminology and Security Studies
  2. Economics
  3. Mass Communication
  4. Political Science

List of NOUN’s Accredited Courses

School Of Agricultural Sciences – Undergraduate Degree Programmes:

  1. Agricultural Economics and Agro Business
  2. Agricultural Extension and Rural Development
  3. Animal Science
  4. Aquaculture and Fisheries Management
  5. Soil and Land Resources Management
  6. Crop Production and Protection Sciences

School Of Arts And Social Sciences – Undergraduate Degree Programmes:

  1. Criminology and Security Studies
  2. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  3. Mass Communication
  4. English
  5. French and International Relations
  6. Christian Theology
  7. Islamic Studies
  8. Political Science
  9. Economics

Postgraduate Diploma Programmes:

  1. Criminology and Security Studies
  2. Journalism and Mass Communication
  3. Peace Studies and Conflict Resolution
  4. Christian Theology

School Of Science And Technology – Undergraduate Degree Programmes:

  1. Computer Science
  2. Communication Technology
  3. Data Management
  4. Environmental Science & Resource Management
  5. Mathematics
  6. Mathematics/Computer
  7. Chemistry
  8. Biology
  9. Physics
  10. Financial Mathematics

Postgraduate Diploma Programmes:

  1. Digital Communications
  2. Mobile Communications Technology (Wireless)
  3. Information Technology

School Of Health Sciences – Undergraduate Degree Programmes:

  1. Community Health
  2. Dental Technology
  3. Environmental Health
  4. Mathematics Education
  5. Science Education

Postgraduate Diploma Programme:

  1. PGD HIV/AIDS Education and Management

School Of Law – Undergraduate Programme:

  1. LLB (Law) Degree programme

Postgraduate Diploma Programme:

  1. Legislative Drafting

School Of Management Sciences – Undergraduate Degree Programmes:

  1. Cooperatives Management
  2. Entrepreneurship
  3. Accounting (in Collaboration with ICAN)

Hospitality Management – Postgraduate Diploma Programmes:

  1. Financial Management
  2. Public Administration
  3. Business Administration

The National Open University of Nigeria also offers certain compulsory courses which every student of the institution must pass before he/she is allowed to graduate. The courses include:

  • Use of English and Communication Skills
  • People and Culture
  • Study Skills I and II
  • Nigeria and her Neighbours
  • History and Philosophy of Science
  • Logic and Creative Thinking
  • Computer Fundamentals
National Open University of Nigeria

Admission and Students Portal info

Admission into the National Open University of Nigeria is for Undergraduate, Postgraduate and PhD prospects from ages between 17 and above. One of the advantages the school has over the other tertiary institutions in Nigeria is its immunity to union strikes such as the ASSU strike.

The university has also affirmed that its students can enrol and participate in the National Youth Service Corps, NYSC programme.

How to Apply for Admission in NOUN

To apply for admission in the university, you are expected to have at least a minimum of 5 O-level credits including Mathematics and English Language.

The simple steps below is how eligible candidates can apply for admission in the National Open University Of Nigeria.

1. Visit the NOUN website, and click Apply for Admission on the menu bar.

2. Select the programme you wish to apply for be it Undergraduate, Postgraduate or PhD.

3. On the left-hand side of the screen, Select Faculty

4. Click on any Faculty of your choice and fill the form displayed on the screen, choose the programme and entry level to enable the View Requirements.

5. Click on View Requirements tab below to review admission criteria.

6. After you’ve done that, click Apply to proceed to the pre-payment application page. Fill the remaining details before you submit.

7. When you’ve successfully submitted the pre-payment form, you will be redirected to Remita to obtain an RRR invoice which is used to effect payment for the application form.

8. Take note of the UNIQUE ID displayed and then click on Continue.

9. On the options provided, Select Bank Branch as payment type and click Pay. 

10. Note your RRR number and proceed to any of the bank branches to pay the stipulated amount.

11. After you’ve made the payments, re-visit the school’s website as in step 1 & 2.

12. If you’re paying online with a payment card (internet banking), you will automatically obtain the online form which you are to fill and submit.

13. On the Continue After Payment provision, enter Unique ID, RRR number and Programme and click Proceed.

14. Fill Form as provided on the screen and Submit.

15. Print your admission letter and take it to your preferred Study Centre for screening/verification by an Administrative Officer.

Student Portal Login/Registration 

The NOUN Student Portal is available for Returning students who are to simply Login and access their status and for New students who are to register their personal data before submission.

Previous article2018/19 Premier League Top Goal Scorers: Golden Boot Winner
Next articleWhy Your Whatsapp Was Banned And How To Get Unbanned


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here