Home Society & People Languages In Oyo State

Languages In Oyo State

Oyo State
Oyo State
Oyo State
Oyo State

Located in the South-West geopolitical zone of Nigeria, Oyo State was one of the three States carved out of the former Western State of Nigeria in 1976. Oyo State consists of 33 Local Governments and 29 Local Council Development Areas.

The State which is homogeneous, has a population of about 6million and is predominantly occupied by the Yoruba people. Within the State however, there are sub-ethnic groups with distinct dialect peculiarities. The people of Oyo State may be divided into five broad groups which are: the Ibadans, the Ibarapas, the Oyos, the Oke-Oguns and the Ogbomosos.

List Of Languages In Nigeria By State

The major language spoken in Oyo state is the Yoruba language. Other languages people speak in the state include: English, Pidgin, Hausa, Igbo, Edo, Efik.

History Of English Language In Nigeria

History Of Nigerian National Anthem

History Of Nigeria Geopolitical Zones

List Of Countries And Their Languages

List Of Polling Units And Wards In Oyo State

Previous articleLanguages In Osun State
Next articleTop 10 Largest Cities In Samoa


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here