List Of Speakers Of House of Reps Nigeria, From 1955 To Date

The Speaker of the House of Representatives is the presiding officer of the Federal House of Representatives of Nigeria.

The Speaker of the House of Rep. is the third in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency, after the Senate President and the Vice President.

Sir Frederic Metcalfe of Great Britain became Speaker of the House of Representatives of Nigeria in 1955. He was replaced by the first indigenous speaker, Jaja Wachuku, in 1959.

Below is the list of the Speakers of the House of Representatives of Nigeria, their tenure and political party:

Name Term Party
Sir Frederic Metcalfe 1955-1959
Jaja Wachuku 1959–1960 NCNC
Ibrahim Jalo Waziri 1960–1966 NPC
Edwin Ume-Ezeoke 1979–1983 NPN
Chaha Biam 1983 NPN
Salisu Buhari 1999–2000 PDP
Ghali Umar Na’Abba 2000–2003 PDP
Aminu Bello Masari 2003–2007 PDP
Patricia Etteh 2007 PDP
Dimeji Bankole 2007–2011 PDP
Aminu Waziri Tambuwal 2011 – 2015 APC
Yakubu Dogara 2015 – 2019 PDP
Femi Gbajabiamila 2019 – Present APC

Recommended: List of Senate Presidents Of Nigeria From 1960 To Date

Complete List Of All Senatorial Districts In Nigeria

Full List Of Senate Standing Committees & Their Heads/Chairmen

Full List Of House Of Reps Standing Committees & Their Heads/Chairmen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.