Home Country Complete List Of Chief Of Army Staff In Nigeria

Complete List Of Chief Of Army Staff In Nigeria


In Nigeria, the Chief of Army Staff is the highest ranking military officer of the Army. The position is often occupied by the most senior commissioned officer appointed by the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of Nigeria. The Chief of Army Staff reports to the Chief of Defence Staff, who also reports to the Defence Minister. The Statutory duty of the Officer is to formulate and execute policies towards the highest attainment of National Security and operational competence of the force.

Below is a chronological list of officers who have held the position of General Officer Commanding (GOC) or Chief of Army Staff (COAS) from 1956 to date.

Officer Title Period Served
Maj Gen Kenneth G. Exham 1956–1959
Maj Gen Foster GOC
Maj Gen John Alexander Mackenzie GOC 1963
Maj Gen Sir Christopher Welby-Everard GOC 1963–1965
Maj Gen Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi GOC 1965–1966
Lt Col Yakubu Gowon FSS COAS January 1966 – July 1966
Lt Col Joseph Akahan OFR FSS COAS May 1967 – May 1968
Maj Gen Hassan Katsina rcds psc COAS May 1968 – January 1971
Maj Gen David Ejoor COAS January 1971 – July 1975
Lt Gen Theophilus Danjuma COAS July 1975 – October 1979
Lt Gen Ipoola Alani Akinrinade CFR FSS COAS October 1979 – April 1980
Lt Gen Gibson Jalo CFR FSS JSS COAS April 1980 – October 1981
Lt Gen Mohammed Inuwa Wushishi CFR FSS COAS October 1981 – October 1983
Maj Gen Ibrahim Babangida COAS January 1984 – August 1985
Lt Gen Sani Abacha GCON, DSS mni COAS August 1985 – August 1990
Lt Gen Salihu Ibrahim FSS FHWC COAS August 1990 – September 1993
Lt Gen Aliyu Gusau Mohammed DSS rcds COAS September 1993 – November 1993


List Nigerian Army Ranks And Symbol
Nigerian Army Rank And Salary
Military Ranking In Nigeria
Complete List Of All Nigerian Army Schools And Location

Officer Title Period Served
Maj Gen Chris Alli CRG DSS ndc psc(+) COAS November 1993 – August 1994
Maj Gen Alwali Kazir DSS Usawc psc(+) COA August 1994 – March 1996
Lt Gen Ishaya Bamaiyi DSS Usawc psc(+) COAS March 1996-May 1999
Lt Gen Victor Malu DSS mni fwc psc COAS May 1999 – April 2001
Lt Gen Alexander Ogomudia COAS April 2001 – June 2003
Lt Gen Martin Luther Agwai COAS June 2003 June 2006
Lt Gen Owoye Andrew Azazi COAS 1 June 2006 – May 2007
Lt Gen Luka Yusuf CFR GSS GPP DSO psc(+) fwc Msc COAS June 2007 – August 2008
Lt Gen Abdulrahman Bello Dambazau CFR GSS psc ndc fwc(+) PhD COAS August 2008 – September 2010
Lt Gen Onyabor Azubuike Ihejirika CFR GSS psc(+) fwc fniqs COAS September 2010 – January 2014
Lt Gen Kenneth Minimah GSS psc(+) fwc COAS January 2014 – July 2015
Lt Gen Tukur Yusuf Buratai NAM GSS psc(+) ndc (BD) COAS July 2015 –


Previous articleSee List of Glo Tarrif Plan And Their Benefits
Next articleAirtel Subscription Deactivation & Activation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here